This Boy

My sweetheart of a boy, this one pictured here, turned ONE early in the month.

the-robinson-family-30

He loves exploring new places, stroller rides, taking his socks off, chewing on everything, a green toy flute and his plastic dinosaurs, our dog, playing with everything that he’s not supposed to (like the TV remote and my phone), every single person he meets, and eating all finger foods that we give him. He also really, really loves his mama. He follows me from room to room like a puppy and clings to me when I stop walking.

He does not love teething, being alone, or long car rides.

This boy is the smallest of my babies, weighing less now than he did at nine months and a good pound less than either of his sisters did at this age. You wouldn’t know it by looking at him, but he’s just in the 40th percentile for his weight (and even less for his height). But don’t worry…he’s healthy, he’s growing, and his doctor is not at all concerned. He’s just a boy on the move these days!

And oh, how he is always on the move! He’s not walking yet, but he knows how to speed-crawl alongside the best of them. Getting him to sit still for a photograph is nearly impossible anymore:

the-robinson-family-73

He celebrated his first birthday with ZERO teeth. But the first one popped has now popped through, about a week ago, and I can see maybe five more that are close to the surface. It’s going to be a fun few months around here.

Poppy is also still the smiliest, giggliest baby that I know. Don’t get me wrong, he’s not always happy…but he’s wildly ticklish and always seeking to make a connection with those around him. He’s quick to smile and thinks everything we do is funny. So he pretty much smiles and laughs all the time. On the drive to pick up Cupcake from school the other day, he laughed his head off the whole way. Deep belly laughs that came from within his soul. It was just about the best sound ever.

This boy? The one with the bright, sparkling eyes? The one with the curious smile? The one with that little tongue always sticking out in the sweetest way?

This boy has stolen my heart. For all the ways and days I spent worrying before his birth that I would not know how to love him, let me assure you that I do. I loved him fiercely the moment he was born and I love him even more with each passing day.

I’m so glad this boy is mine.

4 thoughts on “This Boy

Don't be shy, I love to know what you think...

