#Microblog Mondays: Wishful Thinking

Tomorrow, an old professor of mine will be coming for a visit. He and his wife are in town, passing through after weeks of travel in Asia, and asked to stop by. My husband and I first met in this professor’s class long ago (almost exactly ten years ago if we want to talk specifics) and he came to our wedding. He is a bit of an odd duck, but he is very dear to us.

But suddenly, I am wishing we were more successful and doing something of value with our college degree. I’m wishing we had a bigger house and our children were better behaved. I don’t know why the opinion of this man from our past matters at all, but it does. I want to impress him. I want to still be one of his favorites. I want him to look at us, nod and think to himself, “I done good.”

That’s what I’d really like, but I’d settle for my 5-year-old, who doesn’t possess a single shy bone in her body and has NO filter whatsoever, behaving like the polite, delightful, poised young lady that I know she can be if she tries very, very hard. And please, my darling girl. Please. Whatever you do, please don’t talk about my vagina.

13 thoughts on “#Microblog Mondays: Wishful Thinking

  1. But Cassi you did do something great. You’re raising 3 children- it’s like 3 worlds. I’m sure Cupcake will be the most entertainment that guy ever head. Hope you enjoy the visit.

  2. As someone who’s been on the other side of the lectern, I can pretty much guarantee that what wil matter most to him is seeing you’re happy and living your life well. The rest of it is filling.

    Hope the visit is a wonderful one.

  3. Okay, I burst out laughing with that last line. Remember, you’re viewing your success through your eyes. He will be viewing your success through his eyes. And he will probably see a lovely couple with lovely children doing smart things with their education.

  4. OMG, so didn’t expect that last line! I understand the angst over not feeling successful enough, but I agree with everyone else – I’m sure he’ll be impressed, and your visit will be wonderful.

  5. Oh, thank you for the laugh! I hope your visit goes well and you feel good about it in the end. (Maybe discussions about body parts will add some comic relief!)

Don't be shy, I love to know what you think...

