Housekeeping & More

Time to do a little December housekeeping! Some things to take note of:

  • I have updated my Resources page with some fabulous articles and books on infertility, miscarriage, and parenting.
  • I keep forgetting to mention that, in the last two months of my pregnancy, I ate anywhere from 4-9 dates every day. Why? Because of this recent research. Knowing that, for my very first time, I went into labor on my own with Poppy within mere days (two to be exact) of my due date makes me a believer!
  • One other random thing worth mentioning…if you’re preparing or planning to have more babies, consider buying some Depends (adult diapers) for after delivery. I learned about these only as I was getting ready to welcome our second child and they are so much more comfortable and leak-proof than what the hospital gives you (though what they gave me after this last delivery really wasn’t bad). I swear by these now and will never wear anything else for that first postpartum week or two!
  • Also, here is one more thing to consider… It took me a very long time to realize (I guess because I’m not capable of thinking for myself???) that you don’t HAVE to wear the hospital gown provided. You can bring your own! Or you can wear a swimsuit. Or yoga pants. Or whatever you damn well please. Don’t be a slave to following everyone else’s traditions and expectations if you don’t want to!
  • I just added a few photos taken by our birth photographer to the post about Poppy’s birth story. Check them out if you’re interested!
  • Also, our birth photographer made a video of our birth experience. It’s beautiful and I am so proud of and pleased with the experience I had. I think I’d like to share this with those of you have loyally followed this blog for a while, as a thank you for your loyalty, but mostly because many of you have become very dear to me. If you are interested, please e-mail me at cassie.s.dash@gmail.com, tell me who you are, and I will gladly give you the link and password for the video. One word of warning: it’s kind of long (10 minutes), but isn’t that fitting for this long-winded gal? πŸ™‚
  • For those of you interested in and passionate about birth (I’m kind of obsessed), look up the Birth Without Fear blog if you don’t already know about it. It’s amazing, inspiring, and, in part, what led me to search and plan for a better birth experience. My birth with Cupcake was satisfying and incredible, but I knew I wanted something more when it was time to have Skittle. For me, that meant a natural birth, but this is by no means a blog against epidurals, inductions, c-sections, or anything else of the sort. January Harsche, the founder of BWF, is just all about empowering mothers to be advocates for themselves and their baby, to fight for and believe in the experience they want, and to love themselves through it all.
  • My doula-friend Leigh is finally planning to get certified as a doula! This is something she has been wanting for so long; I’m really happy for and proud of her. She’ll be so good at this. Her support is one of the major reasons I was able to give birth like I wanted to. The possible downside? Our mutual friend (or my former friend I guess) Lillian is going to do it with her. I have mixed feelings about this, but let’s just say I really hope Lillian doesn’t flake out on Leigh as she had with so many other endeavors that she briefly committed herself to. I really want this for Leigh and I’m praying Lillian doesn’t let her down.
  • A quick update on my life: Cupcake just turned five. Poppy is now two months old. It’s going by too fast! I’m still spotting at almost nine weeks postpartum, though it seems to be less and less every day. Honey just got an amazing bonus and we are hoping for a raise soon, too. We’re planning to buy a bigger, better, badder (haha) home within the next year. My mom will be returning for her Christmas visit in two weeks. We’re busy, but we’re all happy, healthy, and excited for Christmas!
  • One thing no one ever talks about: postpartum peeing-your-pants. Um, apparently that’s a thing? It’s not something I’ve ever experienced, until now. But I hear this is common? Incontinence? Let’s just call it pee-leakage because “incontincence” brings back memories of my nursing school days and my geriatric patients and diapers. And since I’m neither geriatric nor am I about to wear a diaper, I am really hoping this resolves itself soon. Bring on the kegels!
  • I’m looking to connect with some of you outside of this blog. While I prefer to remain anonymous here, I am a real person who really adores some of you that comment here. I’ve been lucky enough to get to know a few of you on Facebook, through e-mail, and even in person, but I’m always eager to know more of you. If any of you are interested, I’d love to hear from you! Comment here with your e-mail address or e-mail me at cassie.s.dash@gmail.com and I will introduce myself and lead you to my Facebook page.

Okay. I’d say that’s enough housekeeping for one day. Mama’s gotta sleep! I will surely be back here before Christmas, but want to wish each and every one of you a magical, happy holiday season. There’s so much beauty in this time of year. Soak it up. Appreciate it. Spread it around. And remember: be good to each other. xo

2 thoughts on “Housekeeping & More

Don't be shy, I love to know what you think...

