Sticky and Stuck

I’m feeling stuck. I can’t decide what to write here, or if I should write nothing or everything. Should I give pregnancy updates? Talk about my day-to-day with Cupcake and Skittle? Get philosophical on what it means to be a mother, or infertile? Get sentimental and remember the baby I lost, but haven’t forgotten? I sometimes think I should participate in Microblog Mondays, but I usually don’t even think of it until Monday night and then it just seems like too much work.

I think part of the problem is that I want to write something meaningful — something that matters — and I’m not sure this is the right place for that, or if what matters to me matters to anyone else. And honestly, I don’t even know what matters to me right now. I have two kids and another on the way, and I’m just tired and rushed and a bit overwhelmed, and writing anything coherent seems like a daunting task. And it’s really hot here in the Pacific NW, where A/C is not really the norm inside homes (including ours), so I’m not just stuck, I’m sticky. With sweat. And unmotivated to do much of anything because of it.

See, I have a lot of excuses for my lack of content, but none of them really mean anything, do they? So just please bear with me as I try to figure this out. I’m not sure if I’ll be writing more or less in the coming weeks, but I promise you I will continue writing as I feel inspired to do so. And many thanks to all of you who have stuck around. Whether you lurk in the shadows or comment on every post, I feel your love and appreciate your support.

While I’m here, let me give a brief(-ish) pregnancy update in an easy-peasy bullet point format:

  • I just began my third trimester (depending on who you ask). I’m 27 weeks as of yesterday.
  • I’m still struggling with “morning sickness.” It’s better than it was in the first trimester, but I suffer through periods of nausea several times a week still. I vomited just tonight, right after dinner, per my usual once-a-week meet and greet with the porcelain throne. It kind of blows my mind since it was never like this in my last pregnancies. I hardly had any sickness with Skittle and, though I often felt very nauseous with Cupcake, it was gone by 13 weeks. And yet here I am, at 27 weeks, with vivid memories of what the inside of our toilet looks like. Crazy.
  • Besides the nausea AND my severe seasonal allergies, I’m feeling pretty good. Tired, but not terribly so. The headaches that I was having for a good few weeks are gone now. I don’t have the same shortness of breath or leaky bladder that I did in my last pregnancy, and no blood pressure spikes or hemorrhoid flare-ups yet (though I am fully expecting both of those to come knocking at my door down the road).
  • Emotionally, I’m feeling pretty strong and serene. I have my moments certainly, and I can feel my anxiety creep from my stomach to my chest to my throat when this baby has been too quiet for too long, but I’m managing to keep it mostly under control. Hourly kick counts help. And by “hourly,” I mean every hour that I’m awake of every day, I keep a tally sheet of how many times Poppy kicks, and I have been for the last seven weeks. I know it’s a bit insane — proof that I’m by no means “normal” when it comes to pregnancy — but it really does help to keep the crazies under wraps.
  • We’ve chosen a name! Just tonight. We had it narrowed to two and I told Honey to make the final decision because I just couldn’t. I love them both too much. The name we’ve chosen is a bit unusual and, though used exclusively for boys in the U.K. (where it originates), it’s become trendy to use it for girls here in the U.S. That worries me some, as well as the fact that his initials sort of allude to a swear word, but all in all, I adore the name we’ll be giving this little boy and am excited to reveal it to our friends and family (and on this blog!) after his birth.
  • I’m whittling away at my pregnancy “to do” list. So far, I have asked my friend Leigh to be my doula again, hired a birth photographer (sooooo excited for this one!), hired a maternity and newborn photographer, started stocking our deep freeze with freezer meals, and done lots and lots of shopping for our little man. But I still have more shopping to do, plus preparing the nursery, making more freezer meals, and moving Skittle into Cupcake’s room (which I am beyond terrified for).

And an update on the rest of my life:

  • I’ve been feeling a bit isolated and lonely these days. With Cupcake out of preschool for the summer and me having so much I want to accomplish at home, I’m finding that we don’t get out of the house as much as we should. We’ve had a few playdates and I’ve gone out with Leigh several times, but most of my days are primarily spent with a 1- and 4-year-old. They make me laugh, but it’s not the same as having the company of an adult. It’s times like this when I really miss Lillian and the rest of my mom’s group (which has essentially fallen apart over the last two years). So I’m painfully aware that my social life is in the crapper right now. But I’m thankful for my one good local friend, Leigh, and the support and comedy that she adds to my life. We spent all of this past Saturday making homemade strawberry jam and we have other fun things planned for this summer, too.
  • Though Honey is gone most of the day, working hard on a project at work that is finally nearing its end (thank GOD!), he comes home and somehow finds it in himself to have a good chunk of quality time with his girls and to help me around the house. Right now, I’m typing this post up and he’s sweeping the kitchen floor (after having already done the dishes and going to fill my car up with gas), that’s how amazing he is. I hope to write a blog post on him soon, but suffice it to say, I am so, so, so lucky this man is mine.
  • Cupcake is four-and-a-half now and still has one year of preschool ahead of her before entering “big kid school.” She’s about to have her very first haircut and I’m nervous but ready for the change. This girl continues to challenge me with her strong-willed ways, but we are now past the worst of the toddler power battles and every day with her is becoming more and more fun. She’s thrilled to bits to have a baby brother on the way.
  • Skittle is 20 months and every day with her is a joy. Her two-year molars are considering their entrance and so there’s a lot of drool in our house and a few difficult nights here and there, but overall, this girl just amazes me with her fearless, determined, playful, and loving spirit. I don’t want this stage to end! But more on that later. I hope to write a post on each of my girls sometime over the summer.

So that’s where we’re at in a nutshell. Up next for us:

  • Getting the results to my one-hour glucose test. I’m really, really nervous for this since I failed last time (but then passed the the 3-hour test). I just want to be able to eat all.the.ice.cream, you know? It’s hot here!
  • A road trip to Idaho to visit family. Not sure how it will go being trapped in a car for four or five hours, but I’ve done it before in pregnancy. I can do it again!
  • Massages and attending a painting party with my friend Leigh. I’ll also be taking boudoir photos for her later this summer since the last time we made an attempt, she came down with strep throat.
  • My maternity photos at the end of this month. I’m paying an obscene amount of money for this photographer, but having her take my maternity photos has been my dream for a while. She’s a-mazing!
  • My 32nd birthday in just a few more weeks.
  • A visit to my sister in August. She’s going through a divorce and is really in need of the extra support these days.
  • A final litttle hurrah as a family of four over Labor Day weekend, when we go stay at a rented house on Puget Sound. Sounds relaxing…I really hope it is!

There’s a lot on the horizon for us and, as summer turns to fall, the crowning glory will be this baby’s birth. It’s crazy, and incredible, to imagine.

9 thoughts on “Sticky and Stuck

  1. Wow! What an update! I love hearing about your beautiful family of four, and all the great things you’ve planned to blossom from four to five. I so wish I had done maternity photos when I was pregnant with Daphne. Glad to hear you are doing your best to relish your pregnancy, nausea aside, while also enjoying time with your girls. And in case you’re wondering, this post was extremely meaningful! What has more meaning than family and growing a baby and reflecting on it all? Nothing in my book! Btw, I sent you an email to your Cassie gmail account. I only mention it here because I’m not sure how often you check it. Regardless, thanks for the update. Looking forward to as many more as you can muster!

    • Thanks for the sweet and encouraging comment, Steph! I truly appreciate your support. And thanks for the heads-up about the e-mail too. I hardly ever check that account now, but I’ll head on over right this minute. Expect a response from me soon! xo

  2. Ok first…morning sickness at 27 weeks? That stinks! Truth that every pregnancy is different I guess. I hope it ends soon!

    And I totally get the dilemma of knowing what to blog about. I haven’t had an easy way to say this but I re-invented myself once again. I found blogging was more fun when kept private from people I know in real life because sometimes I need to vent about them. For a while, creative juices were flowing for me so I felt the need to blog again and created a new space to do it. I say follow your heart and do what feels right. Maybe start with re-establishing your purpose of blogging at all. For me, it wasn’t updates. Thats what social media is for. I just needed a fun but private place to be creative so here I am…again 🙂 Either way, good luck figuring it out. And good luck staying cool in that heat too!

  3. I hear you on not knowing what to do with your space. I feel the same way, and my stats show it because I’ve been slacking. In the end I think its important for you to use it how YOU need it.

  4. I love it when you check in on this space and let us all know how you’re doing! I look forward to posts about the rest of your family as you all adjust to this major transition and relish the final weeks as a family of four. Stay cool (hopefully with lots of ice cream)!

  5. Love hearing from you again!

    Is your maternity photographer the same one you used for Skittle? Those pictures she took were fantastic! I hope they come out great again.

    Fingers crossed you pass your glucose test with flying colors.

    Is your sister your visiting the one you mentioned who has a dd about a year older than Skittle?

    • Oh my goodness, I can’t believe you remember all of that!!
      To answer your questions…we have chosen a different maternity photographer this time. Our last one did take amazing photos, but we decided she’s a little far for us to travel to with two little ones (it takes over an hour for us to get to her) and the one we have chosen has been my DREAM photographer for years now. She’s expensive, but sooooo talented. Really hoping my maternity photos are just as beautiful as all the ones she posts online. And my sister is the one you remember! She lives three hours away and we don’t get to see each other often with our busy lives, but we wanted the cousins to have some time to play and I know she could use the extra love since she’s going through a hard time. Hopefully it will be a fun visit.
      Thank you for following along!

  6. There you are. I totally understand about feeling too tired to post and just being out of energy. I only have one toddler to tend to (and work I guess), so I can’t imagine 2 kids and a third trimester pregancy. Just post whenever you can. No pressure. Also, still throwing up! Aww. I wonder where in the Pac NW you live…I’m on the east side of the Puget Sound. It’s always neat to me to find people out here. Glad to hear you are feeling reasonably good though.

    • Thanks for the support! And if you leave your e-mail address here, I’ll totally e-mail you and tell you where I live! Pretty sure it’s not far from you. 🙂

Don't be shy, I love to know what you think...

