The Nursery: Complete

I had a few requests to see photographs of the nursery before Skittle was born. I wasn’t ready to post the photos then, but the nursery is now, officially and finally and wonderfully, complete and so here is that post that was in-waiting.

Before I ever conceived Cupcake, when she was not yet even a mere possibility, I knew that I wanted my baby to have a nursery with a teddy bear theme. I have always loved teddy bears and had a small collection that I wanted to display. Also, teddies are childish and sweet without screaming “BABY!”…lend themselves well to colors other than pastel pink, blue, yellow, and green (we went with shades of brown and dark red)…and are not a theme you will find in every baby’s nursery around the country. So teddy bears it was for Cupcake and we recycled the theme for Skittle, but for  a few, personal changes…

IMG_0505

a view from the doorway, complete with our little “mother hen” (our small family dog Junebug, who likes to check on Skittle on a regular basis)

a view from the crib

a view from the crib

One of my favorite parts of the room is the collage above the crib:

IMG_0496 IMG_0495

Every part of this collage was selected with care. Maternity photos. Newborn photos. A crown because Skittle was born the same year as a royal baby (and if you know me, you know how cool I think this is). A small British flag because one of Skittle’s middle names was inspired by our trip to London exactly one year before her birth. The words Hope and Faith because, without these things, I would not have made it through the last two years. An owl because we had an owl theme for our gender reveal party. A quote from Christina Perri’s “A Thousand Years:”

I have died everyday waiting for you
Darling, don’t be afraid. I have loved you
For a thousand years.
I’ll love you for a thousand more.
And all along, I believed I would find you.
Time has brought your heart to me.

A rainbow, because Skittle is my rainbow baby, and butterflies, in memory of Teddy Graham. And also, a few things I made by hand:

Notice the little butterfly and owl added to the letters...

Notice the little butterfly and owl added to the letters…

The owl, teddy, butterfly, and maple leaf (because she was born in the autumn) buttons all have a special meaning....

The owls, teddy, butterflies, and maple leaf (because she was born in the autumn) buttons all have a special meaning….

I had to add a teddy somewhere in the collage!

I had to add a teddy somewhere in the collage!

And those weren’t the only things I made for the nursery. When Cupcake was still in utero, we bought a house just two months before she came along. I hardly had time to prepare a nursery, not to mention actually do craft projects to decorate it. For Skittle, I wanted as many homemade things as I had time for. And it was the perfect way to pass the time (all those long days of worry) and build excitement and anticipation for all that lay on the horizon. So, I created this:

a toy box, that will most likely be damaged beyond repair within a few short months

a toy box, that will most likely be damaged beyond repair within a few short months

and this:

name blocks (they have photos and her birthdate on the other sides)

name blocks (they have photos and her birthdate on the other sides)

and this:

a box to hold burp rags

a box to hold burp rags

And finally, a few of my other favorite details:

a wooden pull toy purchased at F.A.O Schwartz in NYC on one of Cupcake's first vacations

a wooden pull toy purchased at F.A.O Schwartz in NYC while on one of Cupcake’s first vacations

a glass teddy that was given to me as a gift when I was very small

a glass teddy that was given to me as a gift when I was very small

a replica of the calla lily that was in the bouquet at our gender reveal party...also, the inspiration for one of Skittle's middle names

a replica of the calla lily that was in the bouquet at our gender reveal party…also, the inspiration for one of Skittle’s middle names

a teddy made for me by a high school friend and given to me while pregnant with Cupcake

a teddy made for me by a high school friend and given to me while pregnant with Cupcake

All in all, the nursery was a labor of love. It was a lot of work and cost more money than planned, but the effort, time, and expense was small compared to the joy it brought me to pull it all together and imagine the day when I could rock Skittle to sleep in that comfy, cozy chair.

I am so happy with the end result. I love that room. Cupcake spent the first two years of her life there. And Skittle probably will too. It will be a sad day when we move on and have to leave this house, and that precious baby room, behind. What happiness that room has seen.

What wonder.

What love.

9 thoughts on “The Nursery: Complete

Don't be shy, I love to know what you think...

