Another Change of Plans

Thank you all so much for your words of advice, encouragement, support, and best wishes to yesterday’s post, written by my husband. (I can’t believe I actually let him publish something so wacky!) I appreciate every one of you more than you can know.

In both good news and bad news, Skittle is still not here. I am at home, on the couch, waiting for tomorrow instead.

The reason for this is that when we went in for our 7:45am consult with my OB today, we learned Skittle had performed yet another gymnastic feat and was back to being head-down. She has shocked her parents and baffled doctors, nurses, and sonographers alike. If Dr. Smiles wasn’t such a professional, I’m sure he would have muttered “WTF?!?!” today as we all stared at the ultrasound screen, stunned to see her head once again in the perfect position. Honestly, none of us know how this is even possible, this late into a pregnancy and with such a reportedly “big baby.” But somehow, Skittle is able to continually keep us guessing. She definitely marches to the beat of her own drum.

I had hoped that, should this small miracle occur, I would be able to go straight to the hospital for an induction instead. Though I don’t want an induction, I want a c-section even less and I am terrified of Skittle flipping again. But there’s no room in the inn — or the hospital — for this pregnant mama. At least not today. So an induction has been scheduled for tomorrow instead and if and when I go will once again be dependent on how full the Birth Center is.

So it’s on to more and more waiting. And while I am so relieved that, at this point, a c-section is not needed, I am also feeling a wee bit sad that nothing has really changed. I woke up this morning thinking that I would finally get to meet my baby.

Instead, here I sit, worrying about how little she is moving today and waiting to welcome her. The same story as ever.

8 thoughts on “Another Change of Plans

  1. Your husband’s post was very sweet. I’m glad the your little flipper flipped back and hope the birth goes well for you and Skittle!

  2. I’m glad Skittle flipped again and you get to avoid a c-section. As much as I know you don’t want to be induced, I guess it’s a better alternative to surgery! Hope everything goes smoothly tomorrow and Skittle is for real on her way!

  3. This baby of yours is full of surprises. I’m so glad she flipped, even if it means an induction for you. Hang in there mama! This will make a great story to tell her later in life 🙂

Don't be shy, I love to know what you think...

