A Hemmie Update and Commentary on Friendship

Well, the good news is that my hemmies are much improved since my last post. I’m still doing a whole lot for comfort and pain management — lotions and potions and sitz baths and showers after every BM — but in between all of that, I’m able to mostly forget about what’s going on down there. They itch and they’re sore, but they’re not taking over my life anymore, which is such a relief. I was afraid I was going to spend the rest of this pregnancy miserable and now I’m more hopeful that won’t be the case. Fingers remained crossed that I don’t experience another flare-up, though.

And I want to thank all of you who commented on Friday’s post. It is so nice to have somewhere to turn when I need to complain about the more embarrassing side of pregnancy. To receive support and sympathy without any shame is a gift ya’ll give to me every day. And I love you guys for it.

And with that being said, I want to add that the friendships I have made from this blog are so dear to me. Truly. When I began blogging, I had hoped to find and give support through this awful journey, to make connections with women who understood what I was going through. But never did I fathom that I would or could build relationships that I believe will last beyond the life of this blog. There are bloggie pals whom I e-mail back and forth with as though I have known them all my life. There is a bloggie friend whom I am hoping to meet for the first time when she visits my corner of the U.S. shortly after Skittle’s birth. And there is another sweet, wonderful friend who sends the most meaningful packages right to my doorstep:

IMG_9102 IMG_9105

A million billion thank you’s to one of my bloggie besties over at Quietly Southern (not sure if she wants her real name published here) for these gifts — gifts for myself, for Cupcake, and for Skittle of course. Bibs, bloomers, toys, headbands, beauty products…the list goes on. I am so lucky. In so many ways. And friends like this, friends like all of you, are on the top of my Lucky List. Hugs to each of you and, most especially, hugs to Ms. QS for her thoughtfulness and her love. xo

4 thoughts on “A Hemmie Update and Commentary on Friendship

  1. So glad to hear that you have gotten some relief. I think hemorrhoids was like the only pregnancy related malady that I didn’t get. What a cute and thoughtful package. I have gotten a few of those before and they really did brighten my day. I love the cupcake t-shirt! 🙂

  2. Glad your “hemmies” are feeling better. I have had only two days where I wanted to die due to the ass pain from my Harry the Hemorrhoid, but thankfully I haven’t graduated past the wipes. I’m crossing my fingers it stays this way through the rest of the pregnancy!!

  3. So glad to read you are feeling better. I am terrified of the dreaded hemmies appearing the further along I get. I am just going to keep all of my things crossed that it doesn’t happen!
    And yay for awesome friends in the blogosphere!

  4. It’s also good to hear that your dreaded hemmies aren’t excruciating anymore. They have got to be one of the most terrible things ever. I nick named mine Hannah the hemmie a year ago when I got one while TTC. Not. Fun.

    I’m so glad you enjoyed the box of goodies! You’re such a sweet soul and a wonderful friend Cassie 🙂

Don't be shy, I love to know what you think...

