Odds ‘n’ Ends: Kat, Idaho, Choosing a Name, and More

Just a few things I wanted to update all of you on today, now that we’re home from Idaho and things are settling down again:

KAT

The e-mail from Kat is still sitting in my Inbox. Unread. This is so unlike me, to wait this long. I am usually one for instant gratification. I’m impatient. I can’t wait for anything. Except, Katie over at Our Growing Gardunn mentioned that this sort of “should I or shouldn’t I?” is like making a decision to POAS. And I always waited for that. I would wait a week past my missed period before testing. In this circumstance, I don’t know exactly what I’m waiting for.  I guess, I’m just waiting until I have the time and emotional energy to read that e-mail. Hopefully, that sense of readiness will come today. Or tomorrow. I will read it soon, I promise, and then I’m sure I’ll blog about it too, for better or worse. Stay tuned!

IDAHO

Our road trip to Idaho, our ol’ stomping grounds, was busy and HOT but pretty fantastic. The drive was long and my poor feet were quite swollen by the end. I think I probably pushed it a little too hard and didn’t take as many breaks as I should have. I had a couple days of panic when I felt the baby wasn’t moving enough, but then there would be an explosion of kicks and I’d feel better. It’s still such a roller coaster for me. On Saturday, we attended my cousin’s wedding, which was a lot of fun. There was family there whom I hadn’t seen in 2-5 years, so it was fun for them to meet my daughter and to see my bulging belly. The ceremony was in direct sun in 95 degree heat and started 45 minutes late, so we were melting, but they had water and soda available, which did help, and I let Cupcake and her daddy go play in the shade, so at least they were cool. I always get quite weepy at weddings, but this time even more so. I felt so reflective and so emotional thinking about my own wedding day just over five years ago and all that Honey and I had gone through since then, and how far we’ve come. How incredible it was to be there with my wonderful, adoring husband and my beautiful daughter and to have one on the way. It felt a bit like a “full circle” moment. I am just so blessed and so thankful to be where we are today.

CHOOSING A NAME

I had great hopes that my husband and I would choose a baby name on our road trip, because we had  lots of time to talk with very little distractions. And we DID spend several hours discussing it, but we still haven’t made a final decision yet. My problem is that there are SO many names I love and, because I don’t know that I’ll have countless children whom can be christened with each name, it’s hard for me to narrow it down. My husband’s problem is that he doesn’t love the name that is my top choice (though I think he’s finally caving), but he does love weird and crazy names that would curse any child and that I veto immediately. So for a while we were at quite the impasse, but I think we’ve finally made progress and have it narrowed down to three choices. I imagine we’ll make the big decision very soon — this week, I hope! We’re keeping the name secret from all of our friends and family (and my mom reads this blog), so I won’t be announcing the name here until after Skittle’s birth, if I ever do, but I do have a post planned to discuss our process for choosing a name. It’s tough!

PRENATAL APPOINTMENT

I had another appointment with my OB yesterday. He did tell me that I officially passed my 3-hour GTT, which was good to hear. I also talked to the nurse about baby movements and she said I should feel at least 5-10 movements every hour. But I have been monitoring Skittle for a couple weeks now and that’s not how it always goes. There will be 2-3 hours where I feel only 2-4 movements each hour and then suddenly, I’ll get 25 kicks in twenty minutes. So I’m having a hard time trying to gauge when to worry and when it’s just Skittle’s normal pattern. Any advice? For those of you who are pregnant or have children, what were you told about fetal movement? It seems everyone gets a different story. And also…I’m now at the point in pregnancy where I start seeing my OB every two weeks. I can’t believe it’s that time already! It feels like another milestone.

ROYAL BABY

Can I just say how very exciting it has been to watch all the media coverage of the royal baby’s birth? I know it’s kind of silly, but England (and especially London) is one of my favorite places on Earth and I have always been fascinated by the royal family, so it’s been fun to follow Kate and Wills as they prepared for this big life change. And it’s exciting to think that, just as I grew up “alongside” William and Harry, so will my children grow up alongside this new generation of royals. But now I long to return to London all over again! Even all these months and miles gone by, it still feels like home to me.

I hope all of you are having a blessed, safe, and happy week. Up next: a post about my e-mail from Kat…if I ever get the guts to actually read it!

7 thoughts on “Odds ‘n’ Ends: Kat, Idaho, Choosing a Name, and More

  1. I’m glad you had such a nice trip to Idaho. I hope you can agree on a name you both love. And read that email! (only because I’m curious) 🙂

  2. I felt movement like you did, a long time with little or nothing and then a whole lot of it all at once. I tried not to worry but there were sporadic moments of panic, especially at the end when I was past term. It seems normal to me, especially if you’re moving around and are less sensitive to the baby’s movements, or if the baby’s sleeping.

    And I hope you’ll share your name choice 🙂

  3. I never counted movements. It is true what the others have said. You will just know when something is wrong. After having three babies before and never counting their movements, I just knew to call my OB when my fourth baby just stopped moving one day at 35 weeks. NO definitive movements at all for six hours. Sure enough something WAS wrong (he needed two blood transfusions), but he was saved by God via emergency C-section later the same day and my sweet Bubs is doing great now.

  4. While I’m incredibly late to comment I just wanted to chime in on the movements that you’re counting. I occasionally did kick counts but more often I chose not to. She developed a pattern of activity in the third trimester that was much more reliable for me to depend on than a certain number of kicks an hour. Remember that babies do develop sleep habits around this time so long periods of quiet could be your Skittle’s “normal”. Always go with your gut though, always.

  5. So glad that the trip was pretty fantastic! Sometimes a getaway like that can be so rejuvenating!

    Picking a name is never easy. We don’t have quite the problem you do, as the names we both like are quite few and far between. Boys, in particular are hard for us, so let’s hope it’s a girl! 😉 I do look forward to hearing about your process in choosing!

Don't be shy, I love to know what you think...

