Change is in the air.

And I’m not just talking about the changes that a new baby brings, which are many (though, I suspect, not as many changes as a first baby brings).

It also looks like my husband may be changing jobs. Or not changing jobs, exactly, but changing employers. He’ll still be doing very much what he is doing now, with the added component of Sales (which makes me a teeny weeny bit nervous), but with a company that will hopefully make him happier. He hasn’t been very satisfied at his current job for some time and has spent at least six months looking for a new one. He’s had a few interviews and one other offer (which we declined), but this new one is starting to feel like a perfect fit.

The good news is that, because the field my husband works in is rather new and because he started in the field soon after it was given birth to (and yes, I’m being vague on purpose), he is a bit of an expert at what he does. This puts us in a very good position to negotiate for what we want when it comes to accepting any job offers in this field. He got the official job offer for this new position last week and, because this company wants him so badly, they have met all our demands in negotiations. More pay? Check. A medical stipend to pay for COBRA as long as we are on it? Check. A car allowance instead of a company car? Check. Time off for our road trip later this month and for the birth of the baby? Check. A commission program that my husband creates? Check.

And so it seems as though, today, Honey will officially accept their offer and, in two weeks’ time, he’ll be on to another employment adventure.

I’m happy for him and I’m happy for our family. This will be good for all of us. I do have a couple concerns, though. Like, the fact that my husband will be responsible for sales of the product and he’s never actually worked in sales (though his best friend is the salesman — a really good one! — for his current employer and Honey has been able to observe his techniques for two years). And like the fact that this new company is not new, but the division that my husband will be working for is, and what if they flounder? I believe in Honey, and he is confident that he will be a success, but it’s still scary to ponder.

And there’s also the health insurance issue. We’ll have to change insurance companies. The insurance itself is very good (our deductible will change from $2000 to $250), but the monthly premiums are expensive. For a family of four, we will be spending nearly $2000 each month. That’s an increase of over $1000 above what we’re paying now. I was panicked and freaked out over this possibility, but Honey was able to once again negotiate his pay to cover the huge difference. Sigh of relief. But instead, what has me concerned, is that none of our doctors (not my OB, or Cupcake’s pediatrician, or our family practitioner, or the hospital I plan to deliver at) are in-network for this new insurance company. I have cried many tears over this, not only because I love our doctors (and only chose them as part of our medical team after extensive research into who is the best of the best), but also because the stress of finding a new OB and birth center in my last trimester is just too much for this pregnant, hormonal, emotional mama to handle.

It’s just too much.

There is a loophole that I’m hoping will apply to us that will allow me to have “continuation of care.” Basically, I will need to file a claim with the new insurance company to have them pay for all of my expenses at my current OB/hospital because I am about to enter my last trimester (next week!) and need and deserve to have a doctor who knows my medical history. I will still have to change OB/GYN’s eventually, but not until after the delivery and my postnatal checkup. It’s still not what I would want in an ideal world, but it’s something. It’s better than changing doctors mid-pregnancy with less than three months to go.

So I’m hopeful and nervous and stressed and scared. Change of any kind is not easy, especially when it seems that so much is already changing. I feel very lucky to have so many good changes happening to our family, but it’s still sometimes hard to swallow without having a small heart attack. In the end, though, I know that whatever happens, it will all be okay. We will all be okay. The four of us.

The four of us! I can’t believe, soon, there will be four of us. How incredible.

4 thoughts on “Change is in the air.

  1. Any change, good or bad, can be hard. I just found out that my dentist isn’t covered by my husbands insurance and I was disappointed by that so I can’t imagine finding out my OB wasn’t covered either! Hope the continuation of care angle works! And congrats to hubby on the job!

  2. Congrts to your hubby on his new job! It sounds pretty great. I hope the insurance company will allow you to stick with your current OB. Switching would be way too much stress for you right now. After you deliver and settle down I’d love to see a post/posts on the difference of 2 kids from one.

  3. Congratulations to all of you on all the new changes! What an exciting time for you all! I don’t envy you with the insurance part of the process though. I’ve been through my fair share of dealing with Tricare and negotiating the confusing path that it is so I can only imagine how difficult dealing with private insurance must be. I know you’ll get it all sorted though 🙂

Don't be shy, I love to know what you think...

