Anatomy Scan

Today was our anatomy scan and I’m almost afraid to say it, but everything went…well. No, as far as I know, it went perfectly.

The ultrasound tech isn’t supposed to say too much, but here’s what I know:

  • Cervix is long (and closed I assume).
  • Amniotic fluid level is fine.
  • Baby looks “beautiful” and has a “perfect” heart.
  • The heartrate was a fabulous 152.
  • The tech was able to see Skittle’s genitals and I was able to take our Top Secret Envelope to the cake baker afterwards.
  • Skittle is laying transverse across my belly right now, head on the left and tush on the right (with legs kicking every which way).
  • No placenta previa! (yay! yay! yay!) In fact, the placenta is about as far away from the cervix as it can get.
  • Skittle is still measuring ahead…by about 8 days. The tech says this is still within their normal range, but it makes me wonder if I’m going to have a gigantic baby or if I just might go into labor early. The good news is that the one body part that is measuring smaller than everything else (but still ahead by three days) is the head. I love the thought of a smallish head passing through my vagina. Cupcake had a small head, too, and I only had 15-20 minutes of pushing. Not bad!
  • Skittle was very active during the scan…probably thanks to all the OJ I drank beforehand.

So all of this is pretty wonderful stuff. The sonographer didn’t tell me that I have nothing to worry about at all, but I haven’t yet heard from my OB…so I’m assuming no news is good news??? Dear God, please let that be so.

It is almost impossible for me to imagine a world like this, one where everything goes so beautifully and there are no snafus, no bumps in the road, no catastrophes. I am waiting. Always waiting for the other side of the coin, for the bad news. But right now, there seems to be none. Skittle is okay and so am I. I can feel him/her moving right now. Soon I will know if it’s a him or her. And hopefully, in another twenty weeks or so, I will hold this sweet baby in my arms. I’ve made it halfway. I can do this. I. Can. Do. This.

And for those who are interested, a couple of Skittle pics from today have just been posted.

12 thoughts on “Anatomy Scan

  1. The last paragraph, where you say “It is almost impossible for me to imagine a world like this, one where everything goes so beautifully and there are no snafus, no bumps in the road, no catastrophes” is exactly how I feel.

    I can’t imagine that one day I might actually get pregnant and I know that every step along the way, I will be expecting the worst… We become so accustomed to disappointment.

    I wish you both all the best, continued safe travels and all the joy in the world.

    • What a beautiful comment. Thank you. And I wish the same for you, for your own happy ending and for restoration in the belief that it is possible to live in a world where good things happen and continue to do so. xo

  2. I am so, so happy for you that everything went ok! Also, I’m glad you gave the detailed summary of everything. My scan is in two weeks and it’s nice to know what I will find out.

    • Good luck with your scan! And don’t be afraid to ask questions, either of your sonographer or doctor. It’s your right to know everything about your baby that you can. Hugs!

  3. I love these happy updates!! 🙂 I am so glad everything is going so well with this pregnancy!

  4. My OB told me that if she didn’t say anything to me after the anatomy scan than everything is okay so I think it may be the same for you. You’re halfway there and EVERYTHING IS OKAY!!! I had to put that in caps because it’s awesome news! You have an amazing little Skittle floating around in there! Congrats, girl! I can’t wait to find out if it’s a She-Skittle or He-Skittle! 🙂

  5. I’m so very glad that everything went amazing at your scan. It’s the best feeling knowing that your little one is doing wonderful. I love love love the Skittle pictures 🙂 Can’t wait for tomorrow to hear all about your gender reveal!

  6. Yaaaaaay! Can’t wait to see the big reveal. Your reservations are totally understandable considering what you’ve been through. Can’t wait to see a pic of you with cupcake in your arms.

  7. Such wonderful news. I hear you on the impossibility of imagining a “perfect world.” For me, though, the 20-week scan was a turning point after which I began to gain confidence and lose that feeling of waiting for the other shoe to drop. (Most of the time. I still have my surprise delivery diagnoses nightmares, but they’re sporadic rather than constant!) I hope it’s a turning point in your emotional state, too.

    As for that cake … what color was it now?!?

Don't be shy, I love to know what you think...

