The Tale of Two Pregnancies

In many ways, though I have a darling daughter playing right beside me as I type this, I feel as if this pregnancy — with Skittle growing and kicking inside me — is my very first one. I say that because this pregnancy has been so immensely different from my first one, the one that gave me Cupcake. (My second pregnancy, the one that ended with the loss of Teddy Graham, was so short and symptom-less that we won’t even make it part of the equation.)

So let’s examine the differences:

  • Exhibit A: Morning sickness. In pregnancy #1, I was horribly nauseous from six weeks until 13 weeks, practically every day and all day long. I threw up a total of four times In this pregnancy, I felt fleeting waves of nausea on occasion from about five weeks until 9 or 10 weeks. These waves lasted anywhere from ten seconds to two hours, came mostly when my stomach was empty, were so mild that they did not disrupt my day, and did not lead to any meet-and-greets with the porcelain god.
  • Exhibit B: Fatigue. In my first pregnancy, I didn’t struggle with the common symptom of exhaustion…though that could have been because I was sleeping so much already, thanks to the nausea. In this pregnancy, I had no energy whatsoever from about 6 or 7 weeks until about 16 weeks…though that could have been because I have a toddler at home who does not let me rest except when she does.
  • Exhibit C: Bathroom habits. With #1, I was a great pooper. They were soft and came regularly (as in, daily). With this one, I toggle between constipation and diarrhea and, if I poop once every three days, I celebrate. Not to mention, I had no urine leakage while pregnant with Cupcake and, with Skittle, I’m pretty sure I have. Several times. (See this post for more on that!) Of course, perhaps this leakage is only the result of a weakened urethra/bladder caused by carrying my first pregnancy to term.
  • Exhibit D: My skin and body. While pregnant with Cupcake, my skin was glowing, but I was a chub. Every part of me (but especially my boobs, face, and belly) got a whole lot rounder. I went up four cup sizes and lost my cheekbones. Being pregnant with Skittle has caused constant facial acne, and I started showing way earlier, but so far most of my weight has remained in my belly. My boobs are only slightly bigger (much to Honey’s disappointment) and my face appears to be practically the same…except for all those lovely blemishes, of course.
  • Exhibit E: Fetal movement. I did not feel Cupcake move in earnest until I was 20-22 weeks. But I easily felt Skittle move by fifteen weeks, and maybe as early as 10-12 weeks.
  • Exhibit F: Cravings and aversions. With Cupcake, I craved cheese, bread, and citrus fruits. I loathed all sweet treats (even my greatest pre-pregnancy indulgences, chocolate and ice cream), gum, and coffee…until the very end of my pregnancy and beyond. With Skittle, I have craved pickles (how very original, huh?), jalapenos, and sour fruits and candies. I have not despised much except coffee, and still am able to enjoy my favorite sugary snacks.

This may have been a little tedious (i.e. boring) for you to read, but I have outlined it all to make a point: I think I am having a boy. Yes, I know I am probably reading into everything waaaaaaay too much. And yes, I have known women who had completely opposite pregnancies only to have two babies of the same gender. I also have friends who are convinced Skittle is a girl because she was conceived five days after the last time Honey and I got intimate…and apparently female sperm are hardier than male ones. And in full disclosure, my gender-guessing record is pretty dismal. I was convinced Cupcake was a boy, but lo and behold…she is all girl.

But still, I vote for boy.

Our anatomy scan is this Thursday. I’m a little nervous for it. I just want everything to go extraordinarily well. It was at this scan while pregnant with Cupcake that I learned about my placenta previa, which caused me such grief for the last twenty weeks of my pregnancy. More than anything, I just want a healthy baby, a healthy level of amniotic fluid, and a healthy placenta. But, if it’s not too much to ask, I would really like Skittle to be a cooperative baby and spread his/her legs wide so that I don’t have to cancel our party this weekend.

And if all is well on Thursday, I will deliver a secret envelope to our cake baker that afternoon and, on Saturday, we will welcome fourteen guests, two newborns, and one giant old dog into our home to celebrate our beloved and longed-for Skittle, and to get one of the greatest surprises of our lives. I’m excited, anxious, hopeful, and afraid…a whole wide spectrum of emotions and feelings, as has been for the course since my BFP in January.

A virtual gender reveal party (as Elizabeth at Bebe Suisse calls it) will then commence on Monday…and you’re all invited!  Hope to see you there. 🙂

8 thoughts on “The Tale of Two Pregnancies

  1. Um….yeah. I am totally guessing boy too. So many of your symptoms sound like mine! How funny that they can be so different! Cant wait to hear what it is!!!!

  2. Oh I’m so excited to find out what you’re having!!! Maybe even more excited for you then I am for me! We go in on Tuesday for our gender scan.

    • Wishing you the best for your own scan. II wish I could have gone in earlier than 20 weeks, but they wouldn’t let me! Any guesses whether yours is a boy or girl???

      • My gut says girl but my symptoms were so mild that everybody has been telling me it’s a boy. I’ll be thrilled either way!

  3. All will be well tomorrow 🙂 I was completely convinced (and completely wrong) I was having a boy so I’m not even about to wager a guess. Boy or girl, I’m so excited for you and I can hardly wait for the virtual reveal!

Don't be shy, I love to know what you think...

