Infertility Gives Back

I am an online survey guru. I take a lot of them. Surveys, that is. By being a member of a number of survey sites, I receive a lot of offers about a lot of subjects almost every day of the year.

Let me be clear: I do not do this because I find it fascinating or fun (I, more often than not, do not) or because I have oodles of time to waste on the interwebs. No. I do it for one simple reason: I get something out of it. Something tangible. Something I can spend. Like a gift card or cold, hard cash. It’s a nice way for a stay-at-home mom to earn a little something extra. My favorite site is e-Rewards, but I think one can become a member by invitation only. And don’t ask how I got an invitation, because I really don’t know. But I love this site because they have plenty of survey opportunities and, over the course of a few years, I have earned several $50 gift cards to Target and Starbucks. That is enough to make this girl very happy.

But today, I participated in a different opportunity with a different company, Schlesinger Associates. They conduct in-person, telephone, and web interviews and then pay you for them. (I tell you all this not because I am a spokesperson for them, but because maybe some of you, too, will want to try your hand at this.) I qualified for the survey I took this afternoon by being an infertile. Yes…my infertility actually made me part of the “in-crowd” this time. Go figure.

The survey itself was kind of weird. It was done by phone at a pre-scheduled time and had a web component to it as well, with lots of silent strangers listening in to my conversation with the interviewer. I was instructed to read a leaflet about an unspecified injectable fertility medication and then was asked to regurgitate some of what I’d read in my own words. Nerve-wracking? A little. I felt like I was back in nursing school being quizzed in my Pharmacology class. But this time, I knew I wasn’t going to be docked a letter grade (or pay) for a wrong answer. They just wanted to make sure they’re providing information about a medication in a clear, concise, easy-to-understand manner.

All in all, it wasn’t super exciting, or even super, super easy. I actually had to use my brain, but I can manage that pretty efficiently with the incentive of being paid $2/minute. Yes, that’s right. For my 40-minute interview, I earned $85. Who can complain about that?

And I think I can honestly say that this is the first time infertility has ever put money back into my pocket.

8 thoughts on “Infertility Gives Back

  1. Not a bad way at all to earn $85. I’m actually really impressed you’ve earned so much over the course of a few years. I must not be looking in the right place but I never seem to gain any sort of tangible anything when I do surveys which leads me to not doing them. It’s nice change to tuck away for meds or appointments that’s for sure.

    • That’s the plan, girl! It would be NICE to use it to go buy a few good books or a new outfit that makes me feel good about myself…but instead it will be saved for fertility bills. Oh joy.

Don't be shy, I love to know what you think...

