Odds ‘n’ Ends: Clomid, PAs, Grief, My Mama, and Honey

Just a few bits and pieces to talk about today…

First off, I’ve been having daily headaches for the last week or two. Some days are worse than others, but the ache is almost always there. Up until three years ago, that was a chronic problem for me, but that’s not so anymore. It could be stress or lack of sleep (both holiday-related), but I’m thinking it’s from the increased Clomid dosage. I just really hope that having this one side effect isn’t an indication that the Clomid is affecting other parts of my body — like my lining. We’ll see tomorrow, when I go in for my first u/s of this cycle!

In other news, I went to a Mom’s Night Out Christmas Party for my mom’s group last Thursday. It was fun. After about two hours. Because those first 120 minutes consisted of one of the moms (a friend, but not a close one) announcing a pregnancy (which I’m now calling a PA because I’m too lazy to type “pregnancy announcement” more than once…or twice). She is now 8 weeks pregnant with her fourth baby. She did use IVF to conceive her first one, but got knocked up without trying for the next three. When she made her PA, I started crying. Quietly, and I don’t think anyone saw. Yes, I’m one of those infertiles who cries over someone else’s pregnancy. I just hate being blind-sided. I don’t blame her because, again, she’s not a close friend and she doesn’t know the extent of our TTC issues, but it hurt to hear about her getting a fourth baby because that’s what I want. She has everything I want.  Except I don’t want her kids (though they are exceptionally adorable and well-behaved), I want mine. I want my babies that have my mannerisms and look like me and emerged from my groin.  I went home that night bemoaning the unfairness of it all and cried myself to sleep.

The next morning, I woke up feeling better, only to hear about the  shooting at Sandy Hook. Why, why, why?  And again I was struck by how unfair so much of life is. Not just for us infertiles, but for oh-so-many, all over the world. Life can be very cruel. I do believe in God and I don’t believe He had a hand in any of this (a topic worthy of its own post perhaps),  but it still angers me and frightens me to see what human beings are capable of doing to one another, especially those smaller and weaker than themselves. Those poor, poor babies…and the poor families left behind. I can only pray for their peace and comfort in the weeks, months, and years ahead.

On a much lighter note, my mom arrives tomorrow! I’m very excited for this. I haven’t talked about her a lot on this blog, but my mom and I are very close and have always been this way, even through adolescence. We talk every night on the phone and she comes for a long weekend every couple months. This time, she will be here for two-and-a-half weeks and I couldn’t be more tickled by it. Not only do I have lots of fun things planned for us, including a local holiday festival, going to a new cupcake shop, and two date nights with Honey while we have a babysitter, but this means that I will finally get a break after all this Christmas craziness. When my mom is here, I don’t have to do practically anything. She insists on doing laundry, doing dishes, bathing Cupcake, cleaning, all of it… It really is like a small vacation when she visits. But even more than that, I’m just excited to have her company…and to know that for a full ten days, while Honey is at work, I don’t have to be alone (as in, the only adult in the house). It will be a very welcome change of pace!

And speaking of Honey, the other day I opened one of the books I’m reading to find a Post-it note with this written on it: “I would like to thank you for the 1000 ways you’ve improved my life. Every moment with you is a blessing.” This guy is just too sweet. Only one more reason why I love him so.

8 thoughts on “Odds ‘n’ Ends: Clomid, PAs, Grief, My Mama, and Honey

  1. Aw, I’m so happy for you that you have such a lovely visit planned with your mom! Sounds wonderful. 🙂 And what a sweet hubby you have! My hubby used to leave cards and notes under my pillow when he would go away for a long weekend or business trip. It’s been less since we were married last year but he still does lots of other sweet things. 🙂

  2. Oh sweetie this is wonderful! What a great Honey and can’t wait to hear about the adventures with your mom! I’m sorry you have terrible Clomid headaches-they are the worst part of Clomid for me.

    And surprise PAs are so difficult. Especially for a 4th baby. Yikes! Just know we’re all here rooting you along!!

  3. Confession, I cried when Adele announced she was pregnant. I love Adele but it came just a short time after the miscarriage that I was a mess with any type of PA. Granted I don’t know her in person, so it was a little irrational of me.

    I can relate on SO many levels about having mom come for a visit. Isn’t it just the most special time? Mom’s have this ability to make everything ok just by being around. That’s a pretty awesome super power. I hope you have an amazing visit with her!

    Your honey is just the sweetest! What a wonderful little note to find.

  4. So happy to hear your mom is coming in for a visit. Nothing like spending the holidays with family. Extra points for honey and his note! Merry Christmas my luv, may it be happy and bright.

Don't be shy, I love to know what you think...

