Seasons of Hope

Do all of you know the song, “Seasons of Love” from Rent? The one that goes, “How do you measure, measure a year?” It’s one of my favorites. It’s always playing on the radio at this time of year and it is constantly stuck in my head, which I am quite happy about. I love it that much.

Hearing it for the first time this year, it struck me that an infertile version of this song could easily be written. While others may measure their year by laughter, cups of coffee, or whatnot, we measure ours with BFNs and disappointments and failures. So I decided to write my own take on the song. It’s not perfect. It’s not funny, like my husband had hoped. In fact, after letting it sit for a while, I now think it’s kind of silly and lame. But I’ll publish it for you anyways because it was fun to write. And maybe one of you will get something out of it.

As a note, I did take some author liberties, removing or adding a few syllables here and there, changing the meter for a few lines, as well as adding a few extra stanzas in the middle (extra stanzas are in bold). I guess you can call this the Extended Version. For those of you unfamiliar with the song, I will add a link at the bottom so that you can listen to it. If you want to read my words along to the music, there is a karaoke version of “Seasons of Love” on youtube, but you’ll need to skip over the bold verses since those aren’t part of the original song.

And so, here is our song, ladies… I hope you enjoy it.

SEASONS OF HOPE

Five hundred twenty-five thousand
Six hundred minutes,
Five hundred twenty-five thousand
Moments to fear.
Three hundred sixty-five worries
‘n’ dozens of pee sticks.
How do you measure an infertile year?

In tampons, in tests, in needles,
in chocolate eaten
when bleeding begins, in hopes dashed, in tears.

In five hundred twenty-five thousand
Six hundred minutes.
How do you measure
a difficult year?

How about hope?
Broken hearts ‘n’ hope?
How about hope? Measure in hope.

Seasons of hope. Seasons of hope.

Five hundred twenty-five thousand
Six hundred minutes!
How do you measure
the worst year of your life?

In people who’ve been there,
people who’ve not,
in the nights in bed for a man and his wife?

In hugs from a friend,
in two-week waits,
in pleas to your god,
in times you are late.

Hope! Don’t give up hope!
Measure in hope, seasons of hope.

Five hundred twenty-five thousand
Six hundred minutes!
Five hundred twenty-five thousand
plans gone awry.

Five hundred twenty-five thousand
Six hundred minutes.
How do you measure the life
Of an infertile who cries?

In big fat positives,
Or in BFNs.
In lives that ended,
before they could begin.

It’s time to believe there’s
an end to this tough ride.
Let’s celebrate
with friends who make it to the other side.
Remember the hope!
Remember the hope!
Seasons of hope!

Oh you got to, need to,
Remember the hope!
You know that hope can be a saving rope.
Find hope, grip hope, give hope.
Measure a barren life with hope.

12 thoughts on “Seasons of Hope

  1. Rent has been one of my faves since I had to analyze it in a college literature class! I even met Neil Patrick himself after the show … ahhh. This song is amazing and I love your rendition of it, too, much as I hate the topic. This killed me:
    In big fat positives,
    Or in BFNs.
    In lives that ended,
    before they could begin.

Don't be shy, I love to know what you think...

