Photo Challenge: Balance

Ever since I realized that the cause of my erratic basal body temperatures is probably stress, I have been making an effort to add some balance back to my life. This is not easy for me. I am not the type of person who sits still. I am on the go all the time. If I complete my “to do” list for the day, I move on to my list for tomorrow. If I can’t find something to do, I create something. And even when I watch the tube, I am always working on a project, whether it is this blog or my scrapbooks or dividing up vitamins into my pill box. But, while it feels good to be efficient and to accomplish a lot, it often leaves me frazzled, overwhelmed, and stressed out. Because there is never any break, never any down time, never any period of recovery or feeling like there is an end to anything.

So a couple weeks ago, I decided this needed to change. I started sitting down just to read, or watch TV, or spend time with my family — and nothing else. No working on chores, completing projects, or checking off lists. Just enjoying a moment of peace and of balance. And during these moments, which I try to carve out two or three times a day, this is what it usually looks like for me:

My favorite blanket, a mug of something hot (decaf coffee before ovulation, cocoa afterwards), a good book (trashy or thought-provoking, depending on my mood), the remote control (so I can most likely watch Friends, which still makes me laugh my a** off), and our sweet, cuddly dog. That’s all I need to give me some balance and restore me so that I am ready to go on.

8 thoughts on “Photo Challenge: Balance

  1. Love your photo. It makes me feel relaxed just looking at it.

    I’m the type of person who is always on the go too. I feel so behind on my to-do list if I stop for a breather. But I’m learning to just let it go.

    • Well, someone had to take the photo, silly! And besides…at the time I took it, I was in my most comfy, lazy clothes (a.k.a baggy sweats) and looked embarrassingly “undone.” You wouldn’t have wanted to see me! πŸ™‚

  2. Thanks for stopping by my page for ICLW! I look forward to following your journey now. And your dog is the absolute cutest! Love the whole picture!

Don't be shy, I love to know what you think...

