Updates

There’s a few things I’ve been wanting to update all my bloggie friends on. Let’s do it with bullet points:

  • Metformin: I’m still on it, 1000mg/day, and I’m happy to report I have felt no side effects whatsoever. Like, absolutely none. I also do not know that I have seen any improvements in my menstrual cycles, but I will continue with it (possibly increasing the dosage) for a few more months in hopes that it just may take a while to really go to work.
  • My BBT: Ever since determining that it was stress causing such erratic shifts in my temp, I have implemented down-time (10-30 minutes) into my daily schedule, morning, afternoon, and right before bed. And it seems to be helping! While still not completely stable, my temp is no longer having the low dives and high spikes every damn day. I haven’t seen it go above 97.6 in over a week! And maybe it’s just a coincidence, but I like to think this is actually something over which I had a teensy tiny bit of control.
  • My sis: Yesterday, I logged onto Facebook after breakfast to see a pregnancy announcement from my sister, her husband, AND her mom. Oh joy. I was ill-prepared and it made me cranky and weepy all morning. I had really thought my sis might warn me before she did that. I was wrong.
  • My cycle:  I had thought I might get a positive OPK today, but I was wrong about that too. It’s CD20 and I’m still waiting and growing increasingly impatient and anxious. The second OPK line does seem to be getting darker and I am now seeing EWCM and feeling the pressure and tenderness in my lower abdomen (completely normal for me) that indicates ovulation, so I think we’re close. I hope. But I’m also afraid of hope, so I’m trying to prepare myself for the possibility that it might not happen at all. And I’m simultaneously fearing that it will happen and it’s so late in my cycle, I’ll inevitably miscarry again. It’s kind of a catch-22 at this point. Why couldn’t I just have ovulated on day 14 like last time?! (But, of course, we know how well that cycle ended.)

So that’s what’s new (or not) with me in TTC-land. I’m hoping I have some actual news to report soon! And I’m not talking about a BFP. All I really want in this very moment is a positive test of a different kind. But I’m no good at waiting. No good at all.

9 thoughts on “Updates

  1. Praying for that positive OPK test for you!

    Sorry to hear you were blind sided by your sister. Again. And her hubby. And her mom. I definitely have a different view of Facebook since starting IVF and what’s appropriate to post and what isn’t. *hugs*

  2. No symptoms? You are so lucky! That’s how the girl I work with is too. But me? No such luck. Bathroom “Metformin attacks” as I call them at least three times a week. They are horrid.

    • That sounds horrible…and what I was so scared of when considering whether I should take it in the first place. I guess I can be happy that one thing has gone in my favor. But I’m so sorry you have to go through that!

  3. I made the mistake of looking at FB the other day for the first time in like 5 months and immediately I was reminded of why I never go on that stupid thing anymore. More baby announcements than EVER before. I won’t be going back there anytime soon! I hear ya on the late ovulation. Sounds like you are getting pretty close though so hopefully it will be any day now!!

  4. Sorry about being blindsided by your sister’s post. Probably didn’t even cross her mind to tel you because, well, she just doesn’t get it. Keep that chin up m’dear.

  5. Sorry to hear of the lack of consideration your sister had in notifying you beforehand….apparently Facebook is notification, so I hear….(not a “Facebook-er”)

    Like everyone else, my fingers crossed for you with that OPK as well….here’s to hoping it’s a +!!!

Don't be shy, I love to know what you think...

