The Two-Week Wait

Things look promising.

As most of you know from my post on Monday, I got a positive ovulation test on CD14. The four days since then, my BBT has been over 98.0 (before that it was mostly 97.2-97.6). Also, the OPKs have gone back to being completely negative, my cervix has dropped, and now I have creamy-ish CM. So far, so good, I would say.

Which I think makes it official. I’m smack-dab in the middle of the 2WW. My first since starting this blog. And please God, let it be my last.

Is that being too optimistic? I don’t know.

Here’s what I do know:

  • My Honey and I had sexy time the two days before ovulation and the day of. I hope that’s enough.
  • Every time that I have ovulated while TTC (those two measly times in the last two-and-a-half years), I have conceived, even though it was on CD19 in 2010 and CD 22 earlier this year.

That’s not much to go on, but it’s enough to give me hope. And so that’s what I do…all day long, I hope, I pray, and I analyze every possible little symptom or clue my body alludes to. It’s too early, of course — anything I feel now is probably an unpredictable fluke — but I can’t help myself.

So in this moment, I’m feeling more positive and hopeful than I have in so long, since my miscarriage I think. It’s a (slightly terrifying) relief to finally be trying again. And to be at a point where we’ve actually got a shot at a miracle. (Even though ovulating on CD14 feels like a small miracle of its own.)

So for today, I will try not to worry, try to have faith, and try to just enjoy the possibilities. I’m feeling like I can handle anything right now. Even my sister. We have a phone date scheduled for this afternoon to talk our hearts out.

I’m so freaking scared!

9 thoughts on “The Two-Week Wait

  1. I don’t think it’s possible to be too optimistic when it comes to IF. In fact, I don’t see enough focusing on the positive. Hoping and praying with you for your BFP!

  2. I am glad that you feel optimistic! That is a wonderful thing. Now one of those sperm just need to find that egg and get to work. I am pulling for you!!

  3. I hope this is your last two week wait for you too! Did you do anything different to o on day 14? I just had a convo with my doc about what I can do to ovulate on time like a normal person. Even last cycle on 100 mg Clomid it was still day 28. Aggravating!!!

    • It’s so frustrating to ovulate that late! The only things I really did differently are that I’m now on Metformin (but I’ve only been taking it a week) and I’m taking a bunch of vitamins, baby aspirin, etc. (I can give you my whole regimen if you want, but otherwise, I won’t go into it.) Have you done more than one cycle at 100mg? For my first cycle of 100mg, I didn’t ovulate at all. Then the next one, it was day 14, so maybe another cycle or two would help to bring your ovulation date up??? I hope so. I know how maddening this can be, especially when it’s out of your control.

      • If you get a chance can you email me your vitamins? It was my second cycle on C. I already am on Met, aspirin, prenatals and folic acid. I just had my d & c three days ago so I will be waiting forever for my cycle to return….i will have time to research it a tad and talk to my doc.
        dunnfield12@yahoo.com
        I would fall over if I could move it closer to day 14 🙂 I hope this is your lucky cycle!

Don't be shy, I love to know what you think...

