I’m a Good Sister.

Well, you can’t tell from my last post, but I’m a good sister.

At least, I think I am. Today.

Though I was still hurting from her news and the way in which she’d told me, I bought my sis this while we were in Idaho:

I know it’s hard to tell from the photos, but it’s a “piggy” bank shaped liked a teddy bear. Not so long ago (before she ever got pregnant), my sister mentioned how she wants to do the nursery in teddy bears. Just like we did for Cupcake. So I thought this was the perfect thing. (But please don’t even get me started on how she’ll be using the same middle name as Cupcake if she has a daughter…or how she’ll quite possibly be “stealing” the boy name I have had picked out for years if she has a son.)

For days, I have been going back and forth on whether I should actually send it to her. I don’t want her to think it’s some sort of apology. After talking to my mama and my Honey, and after reading every supportive comment that you all have left on previous posts, I don’t really think I’ve done anything wrong. And I fear that she’ll think this gift is an admission that I have. But then I realized I was being silly and petty. Who cares what she thinks? I know why I’m sending it. And it’s not an apology, but a truce. A peace offering.

So despite my sister’s e-mail to me over the weekend, I put it in the mail earlier this week.

Guys, I am trying. I’m trying so damn hard.

So yes, I think that makes me a good sister. Come on…I dare you to tell me I’m not.

6 thoughts on “I’m a Good Sister.

  1. You are an amazing sister! Seriously. I am so proud of you. You didn’t have to do that, but you are showing her that you are making an effort. She can think whatever she wants (hopefully it will be good things), but you know in your heart what this means to you.

  2. You are definitely a good sister for sending her such a wonderful gift despite the tension between the two of you. That’s so great that you are being the bigger person, and believe me, I know how hard that is, especially when there are other issues still out there (like the name thing you mentioned). I go through this very same thing with my older sister on an almost daily basis – debating whether to be the bigger person and make an effort with our relationship when she is continually rude and obviously doesn’t care about my feelings.

    I better end my comment here before my rant about my sister gets even longer.

    But kudos to you! : )

  3. You are fighting for the relationship with your sister despite the hurt- and that shows so much strength. You could have justifiably sat quiet, but instead you chose to do the harder, yet bigger, thing. And letting go of the explanations and what others might think is… not easy to do (something I struggle with profusely). At this point, it is in her hands but I’m not sure anyone could be mad after receiving such a sweet and thoughtful gift. On paper, the timing couldn’t be worse for you and your sister: you are grieving a loss while she is celebrating a gain. It’s beyond hard to navigate those waters. But I must say, you are doing an amazing job. She is lucky to have you as her sister.

Don't be shy, I love to know what you think...

