Drama

My sister was planning to come visit me next week. Was. As in, past tense.

Apparently, she has changed her mind because I have caused her too much pain in recent weeks and she “just can’t let go of that.”

Excuse me??? EXCUSE ME?! Who has caused who pain? You’re the pregnant one, sis! Get over yourself.

I have composed a letter to her — but I don’t think I’ll be sending this one. Instead, I’ll show it to you guys (be on the lookout for it!) and send her a slightly friendlier version…something along the lines of “Oh, I’m sorry I lost my baby right before you conceived yours and it has gotten in the way of your perfect life. Please forgive me and my heartache.”

Oh, sigh.

I really don’t need this drama right now.

I really don’t.

8 thoughts on “Drama

    • That’s a good question! I’m not really sure as she didn’t give me much of an explanation in her last e-mail. I assume it’s maybe because I didn’t react the way she hoped when she told me she’s pregnant and because I did tell her that there are going to be times when I’m sad or feeling down and that, while I don’t necessarily expect her to understand what I’m going through, it’s something we ALL have to get used to. Maybe I don’t have the right to be hurting when she’s so dang happy??? I don’t know, but I wish this all could be a little more simple. I’m tired of dealing with this on top of everything else!

      • I like your letter. Don’t forget to add “get over yourself”.

        In all seriousness though, a letter explaining yourself might be the best way to go. If she can’t understand it right now, I’d agree some space for the two of you would probably be best. You need to do what you need to do in order to take care of yourself, and avoiding drama is definitely part of that.

  1. I’m sorry for the drama. I know you two only recently connected, and the relationship is still new and fragile. I hope you can work it out, but it sounds like there’s a lot of hurt on both sides right now. Maybe you each need a little space from each other for the moment.

  2. I wouldn’t send her a letter at all. But I think it’s great that you are writing a version that won’t go to her but that will get all of your feelings out of your system. I would call her and talk about it face to face. So much can be misinterpreted in a letter, email, etc. I would jot down notes for points that you want to make to her during your phone call so you don’t forget anything you want to say. But take the high road and be kind and don’t fall into any traps of sarcasm or rude comments that she may make. Be the bigger person.

    That’s my two cents anyway, after dealing with my two sisters in similar situations. : ) Good luck!

    • No…I think that is really great advice. I actually did reply to her e-mail on Saturday with some brief things about what I was feeling (and now fear that maybe, indeed, I was too harsh) and then asked if we could talk, by phone or in person, as so much can be misunderstood with the written word. I still haven’t heard from her.

      But if we DO talk, I like the idea of being prepared with some talking points…and being the bigger person. It’s hard when I start feeling defensive, but something I desperately want to try as I do care for her so much and want to continue to have a relationship with her.

      Thanks for the tips!

Don't be shy, I love to know what you think...

