Metformin: a Decision

Well, I finally did it. I took my first dose of Metformin last night with dinner.

I actually made the decision to try it while we were away in Idaho. When I heard my sister’s news, there was a sort of flame of desperation that was fanned inside me. I just knew that I was willing to do whatever it takes to conceive and carry our next baby to term. Metformin offers no guarantees, but it is an easy next step and I’m willing to give it a shot. At least for now. And if I hate it? If it makes me miserable? Well, there’s no one saying that I can’t stop it whenever I want.

At least this is what I’m telling myself as I consider popping some Tums for the GI discomfort that I think I’m already feeling. But maybe it’s all in my head at this point. It is still so early.

So for the next ten days, I will be taking just one dose of 500mg with my evening meal. After that, we will add another dose to have with breakfast. Hopefully, this stair-step approach will help to keep the side effects at a minimum. My OB says he can even add one more dose to have with lunch, but he wants to see how my body responds to just 1000mg/day first. He also prescribed me the Extended-Release version, which can further help reduce side effects, so I’m hopeful that it won’t make me feel too crummy. I still have limited expectations in regards to it actually helping my reproductive parts do their job, but miracles happen I suppose.

And at this point, I really need a miracle. I think we all do.

4 thoughts on “Metformin: a Decision

  1. I appreciate the approach you’re taking to this. It is something that you can control, and if the side effects are unbearable you can look for another option. Hoping that this works for you with minimal discomfort though!

  2. I hope it doesn’t make you too miserable. I think your attitude about taking it is reasonable–if you hate it, you can stop. But if there’s a chance it might help…

  3. It helps me…the side effects are tough, but I took it alone for a while and would ovulate on it….a first for me. Stair stepping will help…and XR will too!

  4. Praying for you that this is the extra bit of help you need to bring home your baby. Can’t wait to read updates with how things go with this new med. : )

Don't be shy, I love to know what you think...

