Warning: Pity Party

Saturday afternoon at the mall is not my favorite place to be. Anyone want to guess why?

Anyone???

I’ll give you three tries…

Is it because the parking lot is packed and the stores are crowded and I hate trying to maneuver a stroller around the crowds with an armload of shopping bags dangling from my shoulder? (Yes, but I can handle that.)

Is it because I’m trying to be healthy and yet Cinnabon, Orange Julius, and Mrs. Fields all call out my name as I pass? (Yes, but that’s beside the point.)

Or is because every pregnant woman within a ten mile radius is there to flaunt her oh-so-beautiful bump and around every damn corner is a new mommy wearing her precious baby in a Bjorn?

Ding ding ding!

Today, I think I counted no less than a good two dozen new babies being toted around and nearly as many expecting mamas. And the hardest part is knowing that if my pregnancy had stuck, I would be one of those mamas too. By now, I would be sporting my own pretty bump and showing it off with pride. And my heart would be swollen with all the love and joy it could hold. Instead, I have a flat stomach (well, relatively), empty arms (again relatively, as my daughter only lets me hold her occasionally these days), and a very broken heart.

Pity Party, table for one, please.

5 thoughts on “Warning: Pity Party

  1. Malls are the worst. Also, grocery stores, zoos, parks…. I hope you can just stay in tomorrow, or at least away from pregger/baby hot-spots. Sending hugs.

    • Thank you! Managed to mostly avoid the bumps and babies today…despite a necessary stop at Costco. Sometimes, I think I just need to become a hermit until I have another bump of my own. Oh, well. What doesn’t kill you, makes you stronger, right?

  2. It’s the time of year. Pregnant women come out in spring and summer.
    I was supposed to have an almost 1-month old. I have a broken heart often too…..
    I hope things get better. thinking of you

  3. I am visiting from ICLW. I am so sorry to hear of your loss, I know how it can feel. The pregnant women are every where this time of year. Best wishes-
    Jess

Don't be shy, I love to know what you think...

